Sweet potato pudding: delicious, nutritious, and better than it sounds


Sometimes the most delicious dishes are born from utilitarian needs.

My Sweet Potato Pudding is a great example. Sweet potatoes are nutritional power houses, taste awesome, and provide complex, slow digesting carbs. Oh, and did I mention that they taste awesome?

But when you’re shooting for 200 grams of protein a day, a sweet potato for a snack isn’t going to get you there. So I started experimenting, and found they taste great mashed and mixed with Greek yogurt.

Another thing I had been mixing with Greek yogurt was peanut butter and protein powder, so that got me thinking, why not marry them all together? What I ended up with was simple, delicious Sweet Potato “Pudding.” It might sound weird, but trust me, it’s really good!

Ingredients:

1 cup mashed sweet potato (or 2/3 a medium-large spud)
1/2 cup 2% Greek yogurt (Chobani or Fage are my favorites)
2 tablespoons all natural peanut butter
1 scoop chocolate protein powder
Optional: Dash of cinnamon and a dash of cayenne pepper

Mix mashed potatoes and peanut butter in a big bowl, stirring until well combined. Add yogurt, then protein powder, and stir stir stir until mixture is smooth and creamy.

Nutrition is dependent on your protein powder and yogurt. I eat the whole thing either as my second breakfast on workout days or as lunch.
Calories: 537
Fat: 20g
Sat. fat: 1.5g
Carbs: 48g
Fiber: 5g
Protein: 41g

6 thoughts on “Sweet potato pudding: delicious, nutritious, and better than it sounds

  1. Pingback: Sweet potato pudding: delicious, nutritious, and better than it sounds « Sheila's Green Bounty

  2. Pingback: Healthy Snacks – need ideas? « Amy Romero Fitness

Leave a comment